top of page

Day 13, NOVEMBER 9TH 2021

For day 13, I planned to run 6km. The aim was to improve my speed from last week.

Last week Tuesday my average pace for 6km was 6'46", and it took me 40:42 minutes. Today my average pace was 6'43", and it took me 40:23 minutes.As you can see, I was 3 seconds faster, and it took me 19 minutes less.


Here is my average pace, increase/decrease in speed, and elevation per kilometer:

1 KM - avg pace was 5'57", elevation of 11m

2 KM - avg pace was 6'31", increase speed of +0'34", elevation of -8m

3 KM - avg pace was 7'10", increase speed of +0'39", elevation of 22m

4 KM - avg pace was 6'58", decrease speed of -0'12", elevation of -22m

5 KM - avg pace was 7'00", increase speed of +0'02", elevation of 9m

6 KM - avg pace was 6'41", decrease speed of 0'19", elevation of -6m

During today's run, I felt quite tired but still motivated. As I have already been on a few runs, I will pay closer attention to how long I sleep each night to see if this affects my running. Last night I slept for around 7/8 hours, this was mainly because I had a lot on my mind and couldn’t fall asleep. In terms of food, I am trying to eat more carbs and healthy fats, as these foods are seen to help fuel endurance sports like running. Like any other run, I was still tired and listened to a podcast, whilst trying to focus on my breathing, to distract myself from my legs being tired, distraction is the tactic I am trying to use to improve my 'mental toughness' whilst running.


One thing that has been happening recently during my runs, is this pain in my right foot. For some reason, as I begin to reach the halfway point of my set distance, the pain began to be more noticeable. It felt as if I had sprained or strained my ankle. I am going to try to wait until my next run, and if it is still hurting I will try searching up what might be the problem. However, although there was this odd pain I tried to ignore it and finished the run. Overall, today's run went quite well, I am also already halfway to my 12km goal!





2 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Day 3, OCTOBER 16TH 2021

For day 3, I had to spend 30-45 minutes completing a short workout. As seen in the 'Short Workouts' page of this block, during this time I can choose to either use the TRX or use the Nike training app

bottom of page